Skip to main content

Room available in Park Slope

By September 15, 2010January 17th, 2014Uncategorized


My roommate Nick is moving out and we have a spot opening up in the 425. The room is in a big brownstone you’d be sharing with me and two other people. The entire first floor is shared space—giant kitchen (gas range with six elements, two ovens, griddle, broiler, two sinks, plus dishwasher and kitchen table with skylight), a big dining room with a long dining room table, living room with three large couches, and a sun room with more couches and chairs and lots of plants. Backyard with barbecue, picnic table, garden. Basement with washer/dryer. Piano with out-of-tune keys.

The house is in the heart of Park Slope, Brooklyn, at 4th Street and 7th Avenue, a couple blocks from Prospect Park. We’re looking for someone social who likes living with people and hanging out. The room being vacated is small, but you get your own big work area on the main floor. It’s also cheap—the rent is $690. Lease starts October 1.

Let me know if you’re interested.


———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Nicholas Frankfurt
Date: Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:47 PM
Subject: housing opportunity
To: Jay Dixit

Dear friends,

I am mass emailing you to say hello AND to tell you that a room is opening up in my house in Brooklyn. If you know of anyone who might like to live there (425 4th Street, Park Slope), or if you yourself might be interested, please get in touch.

For more details, please keep reading…

1- I’m moving out on October 1st, and the room will be available then.
2- The building is a beautiful brownstone off of 7th avenue, in the heart of Park Slope, blocks from the F and Q trains.
3- The available room is small, but the house you’d move into is HUGE.
4- There is a dishwasher in the BIG and SPACIOUS kitchen (with a skylight above).
5- There is a backyard (with a grill).
6- There is a washer/dryer in the giant basement.
7- There is more living space than is typical in a NYC pad (living room, dining room, television room, foyer, another room next that… seriously!)
8- And most importantly, there are three very nice, considerate, civilized roommates (a playwright, a journalist, and a museum exhibit designer) in their late 20’s to mid 30’s that you get to live with.
9- Finally, the rent is $690, so you can’t really lose.

Reading the above, I have to ask myself, WHY am I moving out? The answer: to move in with my girlfriend. Otherwise, I’d never leave this fantastic place.

Please send an email if you’d like to come by and see the place. Ideally, we’d like the new tenant to move in around October 1st.